22 WAEC FAQS FOR PARENTS OF STUDENTS IN NIGERIAN SECONDARY SCHOOLS (PART 2)

CONTINUED FROM PART1

…mason college students on stage…well-groomed for life after school!…

(11) Q. Why are some results cancelled?

A. Results are cancelled when candidates are found guilty of examination malpractice.

(12)Q. What are the acts that constitute examination malpractice?

A. The following, among others, constitute examination malpractice:

— Candidates bringing books or cribs into the
examination hall;
— Insulting or assaulting any examination official;
— Swapping of scripts in an examination hall;
— Replacing their answer scripts with another one during or after the examination;
— Impersonation;
— Taking part in mass or organized cheating in the exam hall;
— All other acts that contravene the rules governing the conduct of the examination.

A comprehensive list of offenses is provided in Council’s Regulations & Syllabuses.

NOTE:WE HAVE THIS LIST AND SHALL PUBLISH IT LATER

(13)Q. Can one combine May/June and Nov/Dec WASSCE results for admission purposes?
A. Yes.

(14)Q. How can a candidate get errors on his/her certificates corrected?

A. A Private candidate sends his/her request for an amendment to WAEC directly, while in the case of a school candidate it is the principal who makes the request.
In the two instances, the original copy of the certificate should be sent along with the application for amendment. WAEC charges a fee for the amendment where it is discovered that the error emanated from the candidate, otherwise, it is free.

(15)Q. Why is it that candidates sometimes have partial release of results?

A. Results are partially released due to queries arising from one or a combination of the following mistakes:
(a) Wrong transfer of examination numbers in one or more papers; (b) Failure to shade examination numbers;
(c) Shading objective sheets with biro pens instead of pencil;
(d) Mistakes in entries leading to duplication of subjects.

(16) Q. How does a candidate collect his/her certificate?

A. School candidates collect their certificates from their schools while private candidates obtain theirs directly from WAEC.

(17)Q. What Is the official life-span of WAEC Certificates?
A. WAEC certificates have no expiry date.

(18 )Q. Does WAEC replace lost certificates?
A. No. Instead it issues statements of result to the owners of lost certificates or, when necessary, confirms their results for a fee.

(19)Q, How does one process a confirmation of result?

A. A confirmation of result can be processed by submitting to WAEC the following:
— One plain foolscap envelope
— One stamped, addressed envelope for each confirmation of results
— =N=250 postage stamp for local mails
— =N=350 postage stamp for international mails
— An affidavit sworn to in a court of law which should contain the following details:

Candidate’s Name (in full)
Name of Examination
Year of Examination
— Two copies of candidate’s passport photograph per result
— Fee for confirmation of result is:
=N=5,000.00 per result for overseas institutions….to be reconfirmed
=N=1,500.00 per result for institutions within Nigeria……to be reconfirmed

Confirmed results are not handed over to candidates. They are sent direct to the institutions/establishments which candidates want to provide with   the             information.

(20) Q. What channels of communication exist between candidates and WAEC?

A. WAEC discourages direct communication with school candidates. School candidates are expected to send their complaints to WAEC through their school principals, while private candidates contact WAEC directly.

(21) Q. Which WAEC Offices issue certificates ?

A. Candidates can collect their certificates from WAEC Zonal and Branch offices in charge of the state where they sat for the examination.

(22)Q. Does WAEC accredit certificates, say, from foreign institutions?

A. No. accreditation is carried out by the Federal Ministry of Education alone.

FOR ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION PLEASE SEND AN E-MAIL TO US  OR WAEC DIRECTLY. GOODLUCK

177 comments on “22 WAEC FAQS FOR PARENTS OF STUDENTS IN NIGERIAN SECONDARY SCHOOLS (PART 2)

  1. I sat for waec GCE 1990 at ilesa town in Oyo state now Osun state, ,waec send statement to me that particular year, but last year (2012 august) i went to waec office ibadan for collect my original certificate all procedure gave to me had been follow uptill i have communicate with you sir i haven’t hear anything from them please help me, because i summited 1pasport, photocopy of statement result and i filled the form gave to me. Please sir help me.this august 2013,

    Like

  2. Sir please am in my 3rd year in abia poly when i discovered that waec has cancelled my result after 4year without notifing my school i wrote the exam 2008may/june i have my statement of result,internate print-out and master sheet what do i do sir

    Like

    • Are u saying WAEC changed its mind concerning your results?…WAEC cannot cancel any result without your school knowing…were you the only one whose result was cancelled?…reason?…
      WAEC releases results in batches…if your school fails to pick up a batch of results containing a cancelled result you cannot say that WAEC failed to “notify” your school…same if the school collected but its officers got careless by not comparing the last batch from WAEC with what they had before…unfortunately this is common in many schools

      Then you used internet print-out for admission and did not go back to collect a statement of result from your school in the past 5 yrs!…why didn’t you?
      …are you sure your internet print-out was genuine?…are sure those grades were not faked deliberately for you by the 419 group claiming they can upgrade results?
      when is your school verification exercise coming up at the poly?…

      Like

  3. Sir please my original waec result 4 may/june is missing nd i was asked to bring my original result 4 d admission. What do i do please

    Like

  4. Sir,l have try your number since this day but your number is not available,sir i want to tell you that i have collect my result last week thursday. Thanks you very much.

    Like

  5. Pls I sat for weac may/ June i 2005 in river state, I used my statement of result to gain admission into the university. In 2010 I went to collect my weac certificate from my school only to be told that there was an issue with our passport and that weac needs another passport for us to get certificate. Pls I have long given my passport and the principal has already sent them but till date no certificate yet. Pls what can i do to get my certificate because i need it urgently.

    Like

    • …chinwe,firstly,apologies for delayed reply…secondly WAEC will not give u the certificate except through your school…unfortunately some schools do not have the manpower or time to spend at WAEC offices!…the best you can do is to go to their office in PH and move the case yourself…get a copy of the school’s letter to back u up and tell them u only want to push the file to the stage of certificate collection by the school…

      …u will also look for or strike-up friendship with a senior officer in the waec office whom you need to pour your heart to…why?…waec is like civil service…the printing of a new certificate may take a while…especially as printing does not take place in P.H…so what that person needs to do is to ensure that your case gets to Lagos or Abuja as soon as possible….

      …meanwhile you can get a confirmatory letter of your result from waec to use in the interim…

      …by the way,has the school been told by WAEC how much to pay for reprinting?…if not then the school needs to tell u the truth or step up its follow-up work at WAEC…all the best…

      Like

      • Thank U very much for U responds. The school had already collected the money for reprinting, its just the delay that am worried about. I will try to do as U sugested and I hope I will get a timely response. U were are really a great help thank U once more.

        Like

  6. Please can one combine May/June WAEC with Nov/Dec NECO G.C.E and if ‘Yes’ can you use it to study Law or Medicine and Surgery in any Nigeria Universities?

    Like

  7. Sir,Please can one combine May/June WAEC with Nov/Dec NECO G.C.E and if ‘Yes’ can you use it to study Law or Medicine and Surgery in any Nigerian University?

    Like

  8. Good day, pls i want to know how much it costs to do a name correction.
    The problem is just the wrong arrangement of my surname,The name on my jamb result is Abbas,U.T but that of my may/june waec 2011 result is U,T.Abbas.
    Your suggestions on how i can go about this will be highly appreciated.

    Like

    • …no need for name correction…if it is a school exam then get your school to give you a letter that u are same as Abbas U.T…above all university admission officers may not raise any query at all…knowing that your case is quite common…

      Like

  9. Helo sir, pls i sat 4 waec dis year in a school and i make all my papers except biology where i have d7…sir i want to confirmed my biology result by asking 4 my answer sheet ,sir i nid ur help on how i will go about it and hw much will it cost me .

    Like

    • …only that school can write on your behalf to WAEC for REMARKING…and don’t be deceived by promises of UPGRADING OF RESULTS…its all WAYO/419…

      …and to those thinking they can use this blog to publicize “upgrading” your posts WILL NEVER BE PUBLISHED here…we thrash all such posts daily…

      Like

      • But sir the school is not ready to write to waec on my behalf.the school told me am just an external candidante who came 2 resit in their school……Sir pls help me out

        Like

        • …no 3rd party can help you on may/june certificates…waec will refer such persons back to your school…even waec will not deal with you either….unless something is wrong somewhere schools do not distinguish between internal or external students…by law you are bona fide a student of the school…if you go back to the school,beg them…and if they still refuse get a lawyer to write a letter addressed to the principal on the matter stating the letter will be copied to WAEC and the state MOE if no action is taken on the matter…but remember the saying that he who seeks equity must himself have clean hands…need we say more?…

          Like

  10. Pls i am using two waec results; i just collectd the original certificates but one of them has a wrong date of birth, shuld i get an affidavit? i hav a job interview soon, thanks.

    Like

    • …old boy, correcting a birthday on waec certificate can take a while…maybe 4 months to even 2yrs depending on how you start and follow it up…you did not specify whether its a GCE or MAY/JUNE cert…if it is a may/june cert your school will have to be involved because the originating letter for correction must come from the school and same for collection…but if its a GCE cert its a bit simpler…please go to the nearest waec office to ask for what steps to take…

      Like

  11. I just checked my cousin’s nov/dec 2013 result online and the response i get is: “no result available for this candidate in the specified year”; pls what does it mean?

    Like

    • …in plain in English…it means u can’t get any result no matter the amount of googling on the net…our suggestion is that you visit the nearest WAEC office to where your cousin took the exam…they will have a computer print out that can give you an idea of what happened…they might be able to tell you whether its a temporary problem or whether what u are seeing online is the final result…

      Like

  12. Good day,I will like u to help and as well give answer to my problem.am a student of unilorin,I finished secondary skul in 2006 and wrote my waec exam that year.when the result was release I passed excellently and I also collected the statement of result from school.I didn’t get admission until 2011,on checking the result I had a different result with the one I collected from my secondary skul and I also went back to my school and saw the same new results on it but on the school spreadsheet it was the one I was given by my principal.I don’t know wat to do cus am in my 3rd year and my screening is coming up soon.although my school had made effort but it is taken longer and dis years also make it the 3rd year av been on it.what should I do and am been scared of been expelled thinking it was furged results.pls I need urgent reply

    Like

    • if you send me your GSM number i will give you the name and GSM number of a woman in WAEC whom you can tell your story and who can tell you what to do…it will not cost you one kobo because she is a thorough-bred WAEC person unlike many of the fakers advertising themselves online…WAEC has set up many processes for helping those in need and WAEC will only charge you OFFICIALLY WITH WAEC RECEIPT for things listed under our post…good luck…

      Like

    • what a statement from you!…whether you get a good response or not is not for us to determine…whether it is genuine or not is also your business not ours…we are doing what we decided long ago for about 25 yrs …now ask yourself how u will feel if someone u are trying to assist send u your last statement…we will respond to your request if u give us a satisfactory answer…

      Like

        • Good day,I will like u to help and as well give answer to my problem.am a student of unilorin,I finished secondary skul in 2006 and wrote my waec exam that year.when the result was release I passed excellently and I also collected the statement of result from school.I didn’t get admission until 2011,on checking the result I had a different result with the one I collected from my secondary skul and I also went back to my school and saw the same new results on it but on the school spreadsheet it was the one I was given by my principal.I don’t know wat to do cus am in my 3rd year and my screening is coming up soon.although my school had made effort but it is taken longer and dis years also make it the 3rd year av been on it.what should I do and am been scared of been expelled thinking it was furged results.pls I need urgent reply

          Like

  13. please sir, how do I go by concerning error in spelling my name… my name is Mohammed Dahiru but it was misspelled as Mohammad Dahiru, how do I carry d correction. thanks, anticipating your response.

    Like

  14. I sat for WAEC May / June 1996 in Edo State but my result was cancelled what can be done to get it? I’m still very much interested. I want to know my grades besides I paid and worked for it. My exam no is 14211/036. Please help me!!!

    Like

  15. I sat for WAEC last three years(2011) and now i realise the mistake i made and i don’t know if its possible to be corrected. The name i used was Akalonu Aristide Chibuike. Now i want to change it to Akalonu Aristide Arinze that’s exactly what is written in my birth certificate. Please reply to me back as soon as possible cause i don’t really know wat to do now:

    Like

  16. Please i sat for the Nov/Dec 2012 WASSCE at Eti-osa local govt (V.I).. Please which of the WAEC offices in Lagos can i collect the certificate from I.e Ogba or Yaba, and like how much will it cost me?…sorry we do not know how much it will cost u…

    Like

  17. A student that did gce but did not do waec can the gce serve as waec or rather what are the advantages of waec over gce pls answer

    Like

  18. Pls I wish to know the days of collection of original certificate of. G.c.e. Exam’ the collection centre nd d phone number of any of the availbale staff for more info. Tnks

    Like

  19. Sir, thanks for your good work here. please can you help us on question about
    sending WAEC transcript to an Higher institution. thank you.

    Like

  20. Good day,
    I want some clarifications about my waec and neco results. On my results the name is USMAN MUHAMMAD ABDULLAHI. I registered for waec and neco before realizing that my name on my passport is USMAN MOHAMMED. And even on all my documents is USMAN MOHAMMED meaning the problem is only on waec and neco results. So my question here is that can I change my name on the results to USMAN MOHAMMED through LEGAL process? And how can I do it? Can waec and neco office do that for me?

    I will be grateful if you respond. Here is my email: usman07064@yahoo.com

    Like

  21. my middle name was used 4 my first name.instead of orowale triumph prosper it was orowale prosper triumph. pls i nid ur help ,tis mayjune

    Like

  22. hello, i need your help please.
    i wrote the nov/dec exam in 2011 there at ojo senior high school.
    but i lost my statement of result and i just cant remember my exam number, i know the exam number consist of the school number and the sit number of the candidate, i might be able to get the school 8digit number but i totally forgot my sit number.
    i am currently in ghana. but am ready to come to nigeria if possible to waec office, but i need to know all that is required of me before i come or any valuable information, this is really important and i would appreciate if you can reply me. or perhaps if i can have ur mobile number thanks and God bless

    Like

  23. My waec original cert did not come,my principal isued me state of result.but now my university said i must bring the original cert.pls help me

    Like

  24. My waec original cert did not come,my principal isued me statement of result but now my universty said i my bring the original cert.advice me pls

    Like

  25. Pls i wrote the 2013 nov/dec wassce is the certificate out? If not how and were can i get the statement of result? Pls do well to respond it will help alot. God bless you

    Like

  26. I am unable to check my waec result which i wrote in the year 2014/2015,any time i tried to check it it says ‘result not available for this particular year for this candidate’ please what can be done?

    Like

Leave a Reply

