A lonely job…

Cristian Mihai

lonely“An artist is always alone – if he is an artist.”Henry Miller

Writing is a lonely job, no doubt about it. And no matter how successful you might become, you’re still alone. It’s the inexorable truth of the writer’s condition: you sit at your desk, in an empty room or in the most crowded coffee shop, yet you’re alone. You just do your thing.

Of course, this poses a rather interesting question: if you spend that much time alone, how do you find stuff to write about?

View original post 515 more words

One comment on “A lonely job…

  1. quirkeyzenlady says:
    May 27, 2014 at 5:35 pm

    I totally agree! It consumes you! All that surrounds you is oblivious.
    Reply
    Jack says:
    May 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    Excellent post! And, I clearly identify with the writer’s/artist’s loneliness. Often, when I mention to people that I’m a writer, I get a shrug or a yawn, or some other “not interested” body language. Fellowship with other likeminded artists is a definite necessity in this business!
    Reply
    paulaacton says:
    May 27, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    I guess for some people writing is a lonely job, but for most of us necessity still forces us out of the door to interact with others at day jobs as we struggle to pay bills while making time to write and the actual solitude we get when we finally get time to sit and write is a change from the bustle of family life. For me I find the hardest thing is persuading others that when I am sat at my desk I am unavailable for the trivia of every day life but until I can afford to quit the day job it is a cross I bear, even if it means that I only sit down to write for an hour as everyone else heads to bed I write everyday but the brain is constantly plotting.
    Reply
    Sue Permann says:
    May 27, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Why do I feel like crying as I read this? It’s full of compassion. I can feel it within my heart… I couldn’t agree more to everything you said. I can totally relate and I feel you. :”> (I think I need a hug)
    Reply

    Cristian Mihai says:
    May 27, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Why would you want to cry? There’s nothing tragic about writing; it’s just what it is, because it has to be just like this.
    Reply

    Ed. E. says:
    May 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    sometimes, when I feel worn out at the end of a painfully long day, I write out whatever is floating in my mind. it doesn’t always end up solving whatever problem I’m facing, but it makes it a bit more.. bearable, because suddenly I have this whole new understanding of what I’m going through.
    Reply
    inscrutablemaverick says:
    May 27, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    You know what? Maybe your words reached me at the right time, when I needed it the most. I want to thank you for that. All your posts are amazing. This is the time, for a week, I was feeling utterly hopeless & helpless as to why we always feel like we don’t belong or why no one understands our loneliness & our purpose and nothing could make me better. Nothing other than your post now, that is. I don’t have enough words to tell you how thankful I’m to know I’m not alone in this, even though we all are, physically.
    Reply
    todessakane2013 says:
    May 27, 2014 at 6:35 pm

    Fantastic!! Loved this. you have summed up the writers life so beautifully and i could agree more with your sentiments and your conclusions. As lonely a life it can be I always get the sense of fellow writers past and present willing us all on, championing our cause and for that the loneliness seems a little price to pay.

    I believe in you!!! You are not alone, God bless your beautiful and faithful heart today and everyday🙂
    Reply
    theconnorsseur says:
    May 27, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    Christian I could have written this myself! So very true, especially the bit about ideas coming to one in dreams. But the more I think about it; yes, it’s at times lonely when you’re sitting with your thoughts and a keyboard or pen and paper, but when I write, I don’t really feel that alone. I know my characters almost as if they were real people, and I can see and hear them in my head. Might make me slightly insane but all the best writers are, right?! Great post.
    Reply

    Cristian Mihai says:
    May 27, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    You never feel alone when you write. Never.
    Reply

    Jack says:
    May 27, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    I had a similar problem, Paula, especially when I first started writing seriously way back during the typewriter days. No one was willing to “work with me” when I asked them not to bother me during my writing time. Few people understood, and even fewer respected “my time.”
    Reply

    paulaacton says:
    May 27, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    Only 12 years to go and my son will have left home lol summer holidays are the worst exhausted from work and trying to occupy a hyper active child then persuading the other half that as much as I would love to chill with him and a glass or two of wine I need to spend some time at the computer, friends are more understanding, partners I think sometimes view the computer as another person in the relationship.
    Reply
    Jack says:
    May 27, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Fortunately, I’m single. So I guess you can say I’m “married” to my laptop. Ha!
    Reply

    duduk bungkuk says:
    May 27, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    so true! this a wonderful inspiration to finish my book
    Reply
    foreverisreallytomorrow says:
    May 27, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    This post just summed up so much for me. For years I would try to “think” of something worth writing about, until I realized that writing is about finding yourself, as you said. This brings so much clarity to the art, to be able to experience many different aspects of life and write about them.
    Reply
    danicacornell says:
    May 27, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I just LOVE this post! Writing can be lonely. It can be maddening. But most of all, it’s a journey of self-discovery. BRAVO! xoxo🙂
    Reply
    walkofpromise says:
    May 27, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    I just read this and all I can say is- I love this article so much, it captures the essence of writing to me.
    Reply
    A.R. Román says:
    May 28, 2014 at 1:01 am

    Good post. We are lonely beings, us writers. We love and, we can say, live our loneliness for in it we create. It is our creating space and we adore it.

    And my best ideas come when I am driving.
    Reply
    Bharti Athray says:
    May 28, 2014 at 10:37 am

    Thank you, Cristian, for giving voice to what so many of us feel, but often don’t understand. Your posts have given me the courage to write and not worry about what will happen to my writings. Thank you for this fabulous post, and for this entire blog😉
    Reply
    moriaus says:
    May 28, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Very well expressed… though I don’t call myself a writer because I think it needs far more command and dedication, yet I relate to all that you said in my own little way, in whatever less I write. I would love to re-blog this🙂
    Reply
    soravernikoff says:
    May 29, 2014 at 2:28 am

    Cristian, what a great post! It is so, so lonely but at the end of the day I have come to accept that that is part of the process, at least my process since I really do need “the” quiet. And I really at the end of the day agree with you that no matter what you’re writing that it is all part of the process of self-discovery. Great post!
    Reply
    offyouryogamat says:
    May 29, 2014 at 3:04 am

    this is my favorite part – “No, I believe it’s far more important to find something you care about so much, and yet you don’t entirely understand, that you have to write about it, in the hope of finding out more.” That is why I write.
    Reply
    athling2001 says:
    May 29, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    Just love your insights, both here and in your other posts.
    Reply
    plasticbagluggage says:
    May 30, 2014 at 5:17 am

    Thank you for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

