An essay on essay writing

UoC Careers

SamCurran-CareerAhead

Essay writing is a key skill in higher and further education. Speaking from a student’s point of view, it is not just about what you write but how you write and express yourself – a degree of skill in English is definitely needed.

I never really felt like I was prepared for the standard required for writing at University. When I studied for my GCSEs I never had to produce an extended piece of writing, with the exception of my English language coursework and literature exam. Even then I followed a set writing structure, which wasn’t particularly complicated or creative. I didn’t receive any lessons at school on how to structure an academic essay.

When I went to sixth form college, some formal academic writing was required, although it was still quite limited. In my Geography and Politics A Levels, I had to write long answers to questions, but they…

View original post 642 more words

Leave a Reply

