IN THE SOFT GLOW OF CANDLELIGHT…A POEM BY KAYODE ODUMOSU

IN THE SOFT GLOW OF CANDLELIGHT

In my room quietly reclining

In the soft caress of candlelight

Thinking o’er my days and how spent

And the sound of my clock

An orchestra without audience except I

No accompaniment

No refreshing new note

That is my Life!

In this perfect bliss let me lie

Far away from the hasty, bashful  crowd

Clustering, restless people getting nowhere

The glow is soft and pricking my past

And like a stage of play revealing, delivering itself

While my future awaits the curtains to fall…..74/75 at Unife

 

Leave a Reply

