THAT GENTLE EVENING…A POEM BY KAYODE ODUMOSU

THAT GENTLE EVENING

That gentle evening on the Bar Beach

The waves rolling in slowly, endlessly

The ocean splashing or murmuring

Bringing back memories of my youthful days

Sweet, happy, gentle, uncomplicated ways

For a while all worries, cares and sorrows

Washed away by those waves of simplicity

My sorrows dissolve in my beers and the suya

Watching lovers holding hands or on horses go by

Reminiscing my youthful days gone away

Remembering Surulere, flowers and butterflies

Then the Aladuras arrive singing and ringing

Waking me from my rolling, happy dream

And all my worries and sorrows return……74/75 (Bar Beach)

 

Leave a Reply

