THOSE HILLS OF MKAR…A POEM BY KAYODE ODUMOSU

THOSE HILLS OF MKAR

Recalling those long ago days of mine in Mkar

Tripping and meandering up those rocky Hills

Lost in thoughts,surrounded by beautiful greenery

The joy of quietness far away from life’s crowd

Feeling heavenly peace and solace everywhere

Gboko sprawls away with rooftops of unfeeling cement fumes

Sitting on my rocky armchair i close my eyes

Wondering what Lagos and future has conspired for me.

Or should i stay back here, around these peaceful hills?

In my mind’s eye i see the school, my students and Principal Gerna

The staff room,the NKST American missionaries from Michigan

Miss Karnemart,Mrs Gardiner, Mr Skopje or so and the CIA spy

Opening my eyes an orchard of guavas waves in the distance

But “Dreams” by Fleetwood Mac holds me back softly,sweetly

Leave a Reply

