World Scrabble Championship

The World Scrabble Championship is the most prestigious title in competitive English-language Scrabble. It has been held every second year since 1991, and annually since 2013. The reigning World Scrabble Champion is Wellington Jighere, who won the title at Perth, Australia in 2015.

Sponsorship formerly alternated between Hasbro and Mattel, respectively the owners of the Scrabble trademark in North America and the rest of the world. However, Hasbro declined to sponsor WSC 2005, and instead Mattel has organized and/or sponsored all championships since 2005.

The number of players competing in the tournament has risen steadily over time, from 48 in the World Scrabble Championship 1991 to 108 in the World Scrabble Championship 2009. In 2011 it remained stable with 106 contestants. A set number of places is allocated to each competing country and it is then up to individual countries’ national associations to determine which of their players will represent them. This is typically done by means of a national ratings system or qualifier tournaments or some combination of the two. A good performance by a national team according to specific criteria will earn further permanent places for that country.

The dictionary used is colloquially known as SOWPODS, which is the word authority used in the majority of English-language Scrabble-playing countries.

On May 17, 2013, Mattel announced[1] that the event would be renamed the Scrabble Champions Tournament, and would be held as part of Mind Sports International’s 2013 Prague Mind Sports Festival, to be held annually. MSI introduced a ‘Last Chance Qualifier’ tournament, giving players a last opportunity to qualify for the main event instead of having to be on their countries’ teams; in 2013 this resulted in 5 extra players competing. In 2014 the SCT continued in London but it became an open event, inviting all players to compete.


2015 Wellington Jighere (Nigeria)

2014 Craig Beevers (England)

2013 Nigel Richards (New Zealand)

2011 Nigel Richards (New Zealand)

2009 Pakorn Nemitrmansuk (Thailand)

2007 Nigel Richards (New Zealand)

2005 Adam Logan (Canada)

2003 Panupol Sujjayakorn (Thailand)

2001 Brian Cappelletto (United States)

1999 Joel Wapnick (Canada)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s